Arkansas Black Hall of Fame names 6 inductees

Staff Writer

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) — The Arkansas Black Hall of Fame Foundation will induct six new members who represent the fields of education, sports and the arts.

The foundation announced names of the six inductees Tuesday.

Inductees include cancer physician and researcher Dr. Eddie Reed, educator and home economics pioneer Mildred Barnes Griggs, actress and comedian Luenell Batson, and former NFL defensive tackle Cortez Kennedy.

Civil leader Bishop Donne Lee Lindsey Sr. and dancer, choreographer and art educator C. Michael Tidwell round out the group.

The 23rd annual induction ceremony is scheduled for Oct. 17 at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.