Arkansas poet wins 2015 Porter Fund Literary Prize

Staff Writer

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) — Arkansas poet Davis McCombs has been selected as the recipient of the 2015 Porter Fund Literary Prize.

McCombs, the director of the University of Arkansas Program in Creative Writing and Translation in the J. William Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, will be honored at an Oct. 1 ceremony.

The prize is among the state's most prestigious literary awards and is presented annually to an Arkansas writer with a substantial and impressive body of work that merits enhanced recognition. The prize comes with $2,000.

The award was founded in 1984 by two novelists, Jack Butler and Phil McMath, to honor former UA English professor Ben Kimpel, who had passed away. The prize name refers to Kimpel's mother, Gladys Crane Kimpel Porter.


Malvern Daily Records Friends 2 Follow