Finalists for Arkansas Teacher of Year

Staff Writer

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) — The Arkansas Department of Education has named 15 regional finalists for the annual Teacher of the Year award.

They will be honored Sept. 17 in Little Rock, where the top four finalists will be announced. Each regional finalist receives a $1,000 award, while the Arkansas Teacher of the Year will receive an additional $14,000.

The winner will be named in a surprise ceremony later this fall.

The regional finalists and their school districts are: Meghan Ables, Stuttgart; Lindsey Barton, Monticello; Vaughanda Bowie, Batesville; Brandon Cooper, Russellville; Audrey Craven, West Memphis; Shedrich Franklin, Texarkana; Brenda Galliher, Nashville; Stephanie Goodman, Hot Springs; Jerry Haynes, Lawrence County; Laurie Hicks, Magnolia; Robert Mayes, Searcy; Kimberly Rahi, Fort Smith; Michael Rogers, Siloam Springs; Spencer Sutterfield, Little Rock; LaJuana Warner, Jonesboro.


Malvern Daily Records Friends 2 Follow